In a new light

And so the time came that I wanted to invest (finally) in a pretty steep and interesting gadget. A few weeks ago, and just right before my birthday, I came across the Fujifilm X-Series cameras that apparently merges “traditional styling with cutting edge innovative technology.” Love how that sounds. But more than anything, it is the look and the physical design of the Fuji mirrorless camera range that got me—it’s chic, unique and relatively retro. And to be honest, I did not want to get a DSLR camera. Regardless of its prominent high-quality features and what not, it’s just too conventional, too conforming for me. georgina

Of course, I needed to spend some time researching; going to company websites and blogs; reading product reviews and related articles in order to make sure that it’s worth the spending. But hey, this post isn’t going to be a review. I’m not very knowledgeable of the ideals and standards in the photography spectrum. I just wanted a dang good camera that would please me and my love for taking and editing snapshots. I also did not want the frills of sophisticated professional photography–basically, the fuzzy stuff. I just want my camera to be modern and user-friendly; and all photos HD enough to be adored.

I was fortunate to get a very good deal online, and managed to purchase a Black Fujifilm X-M1 mirrorless camera, which was just fit for my current budget. What’s ridiculous is that I’ve always wanted a silver one, but I initially thought that only the black was available in the store I got it from. To my surprise, I found out that silver was also in store and would actually cost a few dollars more; but this was after my package arrived. Bonkers! And truth be told, processing an exchange and/or refund is just never fun and convenient. So, what the heck. I’m keeping the black.

So far, so good. Loving the captured photos. Now, I am spending some time trying to learn the features of my X-M1. To date, I’ve successfully transferred my first few shots wirelessly from the camera to my iPhone through the related app, which just blew me away honestly!

And so, I thought I’d share my first few attempts with you. They’re just random snapshots; don’t expect too much. Colours have been slightly enhanced through helpful filters. Also, check out my gorgeous model, my very fine subject. He’s beautiful. Such a natural.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Leave a Reply

