#SalongaDownUnder2015


All right.
 I know. I get it. It might be a little too late to be posting about this momentous event. The past couple of weeks have been really busy and demanding on my end. But I thought I’d do it anyway. No dramas.

So, Lea Salonga was in Sydney. (Now I’m thinking I should’ve ended that with an exclamation point). I find it hard to put into words how amazing this encounter was with the ineffable international Broadway star.

I mean, she’s world-renowned and all that. Everybody knows her, and only has the best things to say about her. But seriously, it feels like the right words have not been invented yet to adequately and justifiably describe her artistry and musicality. And I’m not exaggerating.

Hence, I can already tell that this entry will not look like my usual concert “reflections” (not reviews) I normally post on the Artiste.

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 11.41.07 pm

Basically, it is one of my biggest dream come true. Her singing has always had an enormous impact on me, which up to this day I still struggle to explain.

Her formidable presence, overpowering charisma, and divine vocal prowess just got me. She has knocked me dead in all her glory. If one had ever experienced “eargasm” (or if that were possible in this life and time), I’d say that it’s similar to what I went through during her concert a couple of Saturday’s ago at Sydney Town Hall.

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 11.32.03 pm

I won’t go into detail anymore. But in essence, the place was packed. She had a live band (of course) headed by Larry Yurman—this guy’s incredible. I should also commend his band for doing a marvellous job (The double bass is the blue frosting on the cake for me!). Lea dubbed them as his “most handsome” musical crew in the progression of her tour.

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 11.35.47 pm

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 11.34.12 pm
Lea had a very rich and generous repertoire that includes her gravity-defying renditions of:
  • Broadway stunners (“I’d Give My Life For You” from Miss Saigon, “Wondering” from The Bridges of Madison County, “Still Hurting” from The Last Five Years, “For Good” from Wicked, “Back to Before” from RagtimeLes Miz hits, which are mentioned later in the blogpost)
  • Disney classics (“Reflection” from Mulan, “A Whole New World” from Aladdin)
  • Filipino hits (“Nais Ko” by Ryan Cayabyab, “Hahanapin Ko” by Jose Mari Chan)
  • Tasteful jazz tunes (they’re all mentioned later in the blogpost)
  • Historically significant piece, “Greatest Love Of All” by Whitney Houston
  • Riveting renditions of Bruno Mars smashers (“Grenade” and “Locked Out of Heaven”)

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 11.43.40 pm

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 11.45.29 pm

To some degree, it was a jazz-infused night. Lea started with an old Broadway hit that had also been popularised by Nina Simone, “Feeling Good”,  followed by another jazz hit, “You and the Night and the Music”. Lea also did a Nat King Cole classic, “On the Street Where You Live” to start Act 2. My favourite of them all was “He Touched Me”, which I believe is a Barbra Streisand original. That one was just intoxicating.

Now, I am in awe of Lea’s ability to turn a typical jazz song into something extraspecial. Her musical theatre sound and stylistic expression (dynamics, articulation, etc) blend so well with the rudiments of the jazz ensemble, not to mention the proper dose of theatricality. Thus, a colourful and flavourful emulsion of styles and sounds.

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 11.47.34 pm

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 11.55.56 pm

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 11.48.28 pm
Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 11.53.03 pm

The highlights of the night was when she sang two of her Les Miz pieces (yes, she owns them), “On My Own” and “I Dreamed A Dream” by which she gained a thundering ovation from the audience. The characters that convey the two songs (Éponine and Fantine) were relived during that night. It was crazy.

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 11.54.35 pm

Went with my awesome friend, Gerielle. Photo by Darryl O'Brien

Went with my awesome friend, Gerielle. Photo by Darryl O’Brien

I did say I wouldn’t go into so much detail, but what the heck. It was hard to keep in line. But here’s a mini gallery of my shots. It sucks that camera flash was not allowed in the concert, and my camera takes better shots in that particular setting when the flash is activated. I tried my best to still get good ones.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ll conclude by reposting my actual Facebook status on the night of the concert which I posted during the interlude:

Lea Salonga. I can’t even. I just. She’s a freaking. Monster. A beautiful. Monster.

R.

Leave a Reply

